SF Opera “Super” Opps in the Upcoming Season

In the past I’ve shared bit here about my experiences of being a “Super” or “Supernumerary” (in more mundane and familiar terms: an “Extra”) at the San Francisco Opera.

Well, fellow Super and examiner.com writer Cindy Warner has just done a post featuring some of the new opportunities in the upcoming season, as well as linking back to two of my previous Super posts on jcm.

Enjoy her post here:

Supers for 2010-11 Season: Cowgirls, Slaves, Nibelungen?


My fingers are crossed that I’ll have the good fortune of fulfilling my dream of performing in a Wagner opera, as a Super in Die Walküre!

Nadja Michael, Greer Grimsley and Supers in SFO's "Salome"

2 comments so far

  1. Cindy Warner on

    Paul, excellent choice of photo to show how exciting being a super can be, up close and personal to the most thrilling of opera performances. Greer Grimsley–his voice of God in Rigoletto was such a thrill . . . and here you have his return to SF in Salome. I went to Seattle where he was Artist of the Year for his Ring Cycle in 2004 and critics raved he got even better in August of 2009. It was magical.

    Good luck Paul on being the best Nibelungen ever.

    Toi! Toi! Toi!

    Cindy

  2. jumping clapping man on

    Thanks Cindy. I’m afraid I’ll be too short to be a Nibelungen, but I can dream, eh?


Leave a Reply

