Finding inspiration…in the bathroom

I recently stumbled upon this beautiful and inspirational piece of prose, nicely framed on a friend’s bathroom wall. Doesn’t one often seem to find such inspiration in this most unlikely locale?  😉

I sensed that I may have encountered it before, but that didn’t keep it from resonating so strongly to me this time. I’m sure you will find it meaningful too.:

Fully Alive


I will not die an unlived life.
I will not live in fear
of falling or catching fire.

I choose to inhabit my days,
to allow my living to open me,
to make me less afraid,
more accessible,
to loosen my heart
until it becomes a wing,

a torch, a promise.
I choose to risk my significance;
to live so that which came to me as seed
goes to the next as blossom
and that which came to me as blossom,
goes on as fruit.

— Dawna Markova

It seems such a perfect life anthem, as we prepare for a new year, full of resolutions and fresh goals (however formal or informal). The concept and visual of “loosening” one’s heart is so apt, as mine often feels so tight…clinging so unnecessarily to resentment, anger, fear, grievances.

I am thankful that, perhaps out of all my years, this, my 38th to 39th year has probably been my most “lived” and “inhabited” yet. It’s been chock full of challenges, joys, setbacks, triumphs, and so on.

According to her website, by profession, Dr. Markova is a psychotherapist, a researcher, a consultant to leaders, an author, a storyteller, a parent and grandmother. She has PhDs in psychology and education. It seems all of that living has enabled her to bring us this wisdom. LIVE FULLY!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

