The View From My Seat: San Jose 2012 Nationals

I enjoyed capturing the magic of the US Nationals Long Programs and Free Dances from my 16th row seats. My Canon PowerShot SX 2010 IS, although not a professional SLR, gets me close to the action, with its 14X zoom.

There were so many unforgettable moments, more predictably including the tributes to Rudy and Michelle, and LPs/FDs by gold medalists Jeremy Abbott, Davis & White, and Denney & Coughlin. But, brilliance from dark horses Ashley Wagner and Adam Rippon, as well as up-and-comers Jason Brown, Jonathan Cassar and Doug Razzano, and a rallying comeback from Carolyn Zhang were equally thrilling. My top 20 photos reflect some of these moments, and more.

I hope you enjoy the view from my seat!

"Gold": Samuelson & Gilles (8th)

"Sibling Swing": Shibutanis (Silver)

"Longing Lift": Chock & Bates (5th)

"Pensive Meryl"

"Reinventing Waltz": Davis & White (Gold)

"Beauty Blues": Hubbell & Donohue (Bronze)

"Practice Partners"

"Johnny's Hoard"

"Evan Reflects"

"Fellow Cincinnati Native": Christina Gao (5th)

"Powering Through":" Mirai Nagasu 7th

"Black Swan, Indeed": Ashley Wagner (Gold)

"Michelle Pins the Ladies"

"Emerging Duo": Marley & Brubaker (Silver)

"Nessun Dorma": Denney & Coughlin (Gold)

"Elegant Lift": Evora & Ladwig (Bronze)

"Very Personal Statement": Jason Brown (9th)

"The Top 5"

"Stillness": Jeremy Abbott (Gold)

"Men's Pride"

4 comments so far

  1. adollyciousirony on

    Awesome, I love the “longing lift” and “nessun dorma”
    Wow all are great shots, wonderful… I enjoyed this post :)
    Thanks for sharing. Have a great day!

  2. jumping clapping man on

    I’m really pleased you enjoyed them! I aimed to get some perspectives that were different from what the pros typically capture. But, as you can imagine, some of it is the luck of the moment.

  3. CinnZorro on

    Great pictures of US Figure Skating Championships. Nice way to relive the excitement of watching it live or on TV as we did in the Heartland.

  4. CQ on

    I’m so thrilled to see this! I was there in the audience but don’t have a very good camera. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

